The New Zealand History Teachers’ Association, whose Maori name is Te Puna Matauranga O Nga Kaiwhakaako Hitori O Aotearoa, was established in 1994. Its objectives are to:

  1.  Promote and encourage the teaching of History
  2.  Represent, advance and provide professional guidance and support for its members and their interests at the national level
  3.  Act as the consultative body with the Ministry of Education and the New Zealand Qualifications Authority and in the development of the National History curriculum and assessment
  4.  Establish close working links with the other Social Science Associations, other historical associations and the tertiary sector.

NZHTA Constitution (as amended at the 2022 AGM).

NZHTA Regions

NZHTA is supported by History Teacher Associations in various regions throughout New Zealand. The ordinary affairs of NZHTA are managed by an Executive Committee.

Regional History Teachers’ Associations are located in Auckland, Waikato, Western Bay of Plenty, Central North Island, Hawkes Bay, Taranaki, Manawatu/Wanganui, Nelson/Marlborough, Wellington, Canterbury, Aoraki, Otago and Southland.

Chair: Bronwyn Houliston

Vice-Chair: Kathryn Evans

Kaiārahi Māori: Kārena Ngata

Kaiārahi: Craig Thornhill

Secretary: Kimberley Walker-Groube

Treasurer: Sarah Barrell

Newsletter Editors:  Kathryn Evans,  Bronwyn Houliston

Regional Representatives:

Te Tai Tokerau: Jane Jarman

Tāmaki Makaurau / Auckland: Sarah Hooper

Waikato and Te-Moana-a-Toi / Bay of Plenty: Annabel Walsh

Te Matau-a-Māu / Hawkes Bay: Rene Hanham

Te Upoko o te Ika / Wellington / Lower North Island: Michael Harcourt

Waitaha / Canterbury / Upper South Island: Hilary Kingston

Ōtākou me Murihuku / Lower South Island: Felicity Speight

 All are contactable at nzhtaexec@gmail.com

The New Zealand Historical Association

Teachers of history in schools are encouraged to join the New Zealand Historical Association (NZHA). The NZHA aims to promote interest in historical study, teaching and research. It is actively interested in promoting the teaching of history in schools and the NZHA and the NZHTA work closely together. Membership of NZHA is open to all who support the objectives of the association. Its membership includes teachers, university historians, archivists, researchers and others with an interest in history.

The annual subscription for NZHA is $20 and for this you will receive a substantial newsletter, be able to attend national conferences held every two years and support NZHA advocacy on public policy issues which concern the study of history in New Zealand. The NZHA is a co-sponsor with the NZHTA of the Young Historians Awards. The NZHTA is represented on the executive committee of the NZHA and vice-versa.

Please send your $20 subscription to the NZHA Treasurer